1709broderick
HomeBest HostingGeorgia, California Infringement of Manufacturing License Laws Adopt NAIC Manufacturers Law, Utah...

Georgia, California Infringement of Manufacturing License Laws Adopt NAIC Manufacturers Law, Utah DOI Changes

This post is part of an AgentSync-sponsored series.

State-by-state variations in laws, compliance protocols, industry transparency, and general regulatory cultures can give the impression that keeping up with industry changes is a bit like looking like a cat. So what better way to discuss some of the more localized insurance news than in a Regulatory Brief?

Continuously, without any order or rank, we struggle with the various regulatory changes, compliance actions and decisions of the Commissioner in our summary. As a disclaimer: a lot is happening in the United States at one time, so this is not a comprehensive picture of state action in any form. Think of this as a plateau of regulatory samples.

Regulatory brief

Georgia Commissioner issues new fines for infringement of producer license

The Georgia Fire and Safety Commissioner issued a notice in March to alert the industry that there has been an increase in the number of people who first sell insurance policies and then get their license. (As a side note: Just-in-Time appointments are a real thing. Just-in-Time licensing is not!) In response, Commissioner John F. King issued a new step-by-step fine program for producers, with fines increasing for every violation. :

Violation, fine

  • First policy, $ 100
  • Second policy, $ 500
  • Third policy, $ 1,000
  • Fourth policy, $ 1,500
  • Fifth policy, $ 2,000
  • Sixth + police, $ 5,000 each

God, wouldn’t you like it to be easy to know if your insurance manufacturers always sell within the limits of their licenses? ONLY IF THERE IS SOMETHING TO KNOW! (This is a joke, really, if you don’t already know how to make sure your people are in compliance, please see our demos.)

Indiana requires the filing of premium lines and all-digital surplus lines

In 2011, the Indiana Department of Insurance switched to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) for premium filing fees and insurance renewal fees (OPTins). In the last 11 years, however, they have allowed paper deposits for premium taxes, annual renewal fees of the insurance company and taxes on surplus lines. As of April 1, 2022, the department has completed the paperwork and will only accept online submissions. for premium taxes, surplus line taxes and annual renewal fees of the insurance company through the OPTins system, point. According to the state bulletin, any company that wants an exemption will have to submit an application for individual assessment.

We are not in charge of filing premium taxes, but to be notified, we are all about giving up documents and living that digital life.

Utah announces change of DOI address

As reported earlier by KSL, a number of Utah state entities have moved to Taylorsville after the legislature voted in 2019 to abandon the chapter complex in Salt Lake City, Utah. The management voted to pay $ 30 million for the purchase of the former American Express campus in Taylorsville, a location where DOI announced it had moved permanently in mid-March 2022.

For those who need personal assistance, the physical address of the Utah Department of Insurance is:

4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300
Taylorsville, UT 84129
And the new mailing address is:
Utah Insurance Department
PO Box 146901
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901

The emails have remained the same, and the phone book is available online.

California adopts full implementation of NAIC PLMA

California has fully adopted the NAIC’s Manufacturer Licensing Model Act (PLMA) for its producers. Previously, California had several exemptions that made reciprocity difficult with other PLMA states. While this will be consistent with licensing, it will mean that many changes to the license code will be made available through the National Insurance Manufacturers Register, as well as an interruption in any NIPR processing for California from May 6 to May 13, 2022.

So if you’re processing through NIPR (or any NIPR-based services, such as AgentSync), plan your May business cycle around downtime.

However, after this date, things will be a little smoother for NIPR users doing business in California, in part because they are also beginning naming and termination capabilities for manufacturers with variable life, variable annuity, and personal lines.

Virginia renewals based on LOA status date

As of April 1, 2022, Virginia bases its eligibility for late renewal or license reinstatement on the date of the Authority’s Statute of Authority (LOA) date.

If it sounds confusing, it’s because it’s in a way. Therefore, if your license is renewed on a certain date, your first LOA is likely to have the same date, and any renewal or reinstatement will be based on that date. But for any additional LOAs that may have calendar dates before or after your regular license renewal date, the date of renewal or reinstatement for that LOA will depend on the date you last renewed it.

If your manufacturers have entered the late renewal period (within one year of the LOA expiration date) or are hoping to resume their license (an action available in Virginia for those whose renewal is more than one year old, but less than two years ago), this can cause a confusing level of renewal and reintroduction data, but hopefully it will give them even more points to turn them over and get on with the government.

The Commonwealth of Virginia also issued a reminder that quarterly billing statements for appointments should reflect their fee of less than $ 7. Previously, it was $ 10 to name an agency or a manufacturer. Good thing Virginia is helping to offset inflation.

Washington has added language about HCSM

Following last year’s tricks from Shared Ministry of Healthcare Sharing (HCSM) and partner HCSMs, Commissioner Mike Kreidler proposed revising the limited legislation on the subject.

Kreidler said in submitting his proposal that Sharity and others did not meet the statutory requirements to be even an HCSM and yet functioned freely in the state. To address this, he would like to add language to clarify the standards that an HCSM should follow.

Check out the proposed clarifications, or if you’d like to explore this obscure piece of industry that isn’t actually part of the industry, read our other cover.

In other Washington news, the state has taken steps to ban the insurer’s ability to use credit scoring to take out personal insurance lines. The move was challenged by insurance carriers in court, and the state DOI agreed in March to suspend a judge’s implementation of the rule until a court case challenging it is resolved. To read more about personal credit scores in insurance, see the other coverage.

Other state insurance activities at a glance

  • North Carolina cleans up the roles of non-resident licensees whose resident state licenses have expired.
  • The reactivation of the Hawaii license should be online now (almost as if it were a paperless trend!), As is the EC reporting. Licensees must also complete the EC 15 days prior to the renewal of the license so that the licensee has time to submit state records electronically.
  • Florida added licensing firms at the end of 2021, but licensing firms are not yet available through the National Insurance Manufacturers Register database. So in the meantime, Florida Chief Financial Officer Jimmy Patronis’s office is reminding the public that they can check licenses on the Florida Department of Financial Services website.

Although these points of interest are not comprehensive, our knowledge of the manufacturer’s license and compliance maintenance is. See how AgentSync can help you look smarter today.

subject
California Georgia legislation

Dedicated Server
Dedicated Serverhttps://www.winteringhamfields.com
Hi, By Profession I am an Injury Attorney who handles accident cases of cars with no insurance. I took College Classes online to get a degree in game design too.
RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

Recent Comments